U.S. Mayors Climate Protection Agreement

headerlogoYesterday Mayor Cockrel signed the U.S. Conference of Mayors Climate Protection Act.  He joins a growing list of other Metro Detroit signees that have done the same, including:

  • John Hieftje (Ann Arbor)
  • Marilyn Stephan (Berkley)
  • Daniel Paletko (Dearborn Heights)
  • Robert Porter (Ferndale)
  • James Ellison (Royal Oak)
  • Gretchen Driskell (Saline)
  • Brenda Lawrence (Southfield)
  • Norma Wurmlinger (Southgate)
  • Cameron Priebe (Taylor)
  • David Flaisher (Township of West Bloomfield)
  • Mark Steenbergh (Warren)
  • Paul Schreiber (Ypsilanti)

Part of this agreement includes the following:

We will strive to meet or exceed Kyoto Protocol targets for reducing global warming pollution by taking actions in our own operations and communities such as:

2. Adopt and enforce land-use policies that reduce sprawl, preserve open space, and create compact, walkable urban communities;
3. Promote transportation options such as bicycle trails, commute trip reduction programs, incentives for car pooling and public transit;

There’s no surprise that many of these Michigan cities have taken the lead on bicycle facility development.  Some have not.  For those communities that have not seen the light — or made the commitment to improve biking — this may be another justification to help push them along.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply